Homemade Thai Red Curry Paste- grain free diet and healthy fats- some more experiences

Thai Galangal, lemongrass, kaffir lime leaves and red chillies

Thai Galangal, lemongrass, kaffir lime leaves and red chillies

I took my elder son to a pediatrician the other morning, for a minor corn in his foot that had been bothering him, I also needed to check on his other growth parameters- his weight and height- as I wanted to know the effect of massive reduction in wheat consumption in kid’s diets. Throughout his growing years so far he has usually been:  average on the weight and just below average on the height when compared to the standard American growth charts for children- although below average kid’s heights have always been a concern for us, they were never a surprise  as both me and my husband are short  like our respective parents on both maternal and paternal sides.But surprise, surprise this time what we figured was that he had actually broken into the club of above average height children- he is 2 cm above the average height for his age at the moment. I am happy happy…and doubly charged. When it comes to weight- he does need to catch up on some good calories to make up to the average. And I still need to check how the younger one is faring

In my earlier post The mighty revered grains I talked about one of the changes in my diet, in the context of above, I now add the roll of fats in it. When it comes to effects of my dietary changes, I will not emphasize the 7 kilos I lost as that’s not as big a deal, a lot of people lose that in the first week on dukan.  What’s amazing to me is that not one day has passed in the past one month when someone has not asked me on how I did it or complimented me. The other day I went to a tailor an Iranian lady near my house, who though I was 23 and was shocked when I told her that I was more than a decade and a half over that. and had two kids. Losing weight makes you look younger, period. It does, no doubt but you need to make sure that you do not get wrinkles or look fatigued. While in dukan, fats are a complete no no and I now understand why- as put in layman terms when both carbohydrates and fats are absent in the diet, the body turns to its own stores of fats and utilizes them for its energy needs. Blood composition during dukan is as if you are eating a diet that is entirely made up of fats as the body uses stored fats as the main energy source and in turn makes you shed the flab.  Healthy fats are a superior energy source than carbohydrates from grains and this, I would imagine is what keeps away the adverse beauty effects that happen when you are on either a carb laden diet or on a low calorie diet devoid of fat and generally low on essential nutrients, the result is a feeling of constant fatigue, hunger and some short term weight loss that rebounds the moment you go off track. In the specific case of Dukan, because the diet is entirely made up of proteins and vegetables, it definitely gives you fantastic clear skin, nails and hair while you do not ever feel low or fatigued as you eat to your heart’s fill and never ever count calories. This post however is not meant to talk about dukan and beauty diets as I have been off dukan now for over a month, my weight has been stable to slightly lower than when I began eating normally again- by normal I now mean grain free and full fat (except for dairy- I still have skimmed dairy). Anyone looking to lose flab and extra body fat should stay away from dietary fat along with grain and tuberous carbs but once you’ve achieved the right body proportions and are in a happy space, there is no need to keep the healthy fats away as healthy fats have a great roll to play in our well being, taut beautiful skin and satiety. As I now understand, fats are as misunderstood a food group as are the grains. There are many posts, more posts and articles, that you can see, if you wish to get more juice on this. For now do check out a homemade Thai red curry paste I made using a combination of posts, a Thai cookbook I have at home and the ingredient list off a  grocery store brand that I had in my fridge. Upon tasting, we found that the homemade one was a clear winner with it’s fresh fragrant flavors instead of a bland sweetness that was there in the grocery store bought bottle.

To use the paste, once it’s made, fry two table spoons of it  in two tablespoons of coconut oil made fragrant with garlic slivers, and red bird eye chilly, throw in sliced lemongrass, lime leaves, galangal and lastly the coconut milk to make a delicious gravy. What you choose to put in this gravy is totally up to you and your dietary preferences, I usually choose a good quality meat to add protein to the delicious healthy fats in the curry, kids love it with with brown rice made after overnight soaking and rinsing with added butter or with ghee appams/dosas.

Homemade Thai Red Curry Paste

Homemade Thai Red curry paste

Homemade Thai Red curry paste



Ingredients

8 dried red chillies

3 kaffir lime leaves

1 lemon grass stock sliced (white part only)

1 cm piece of galangal

8 cloves of garlic

1 tablespoon chopped red onion

1 teaspoon dry shrimp paste

1 tablespoon fish sauce

1 teaspoon brown muscavado sugar or jaggery

1 1/2 tablespoon coriander roots and stems

1 teaspoon white pepper powder

1 inch fresh turmeric or a teaspoon of turmeric powder

Boil 1/4 cup water and soak red chillies, kaffir lime leaves and chopped lemon grass and galangal for an hour. Strain the water and blitz in a blender with garlic, onion and coriander roots. Add the sugar/jaggery crumble, the shrimp paste, fish sauce, and white pepper powder. Blend well and store in an airtight bottle in the refrigerator.

6 thoughts on “Homemade Thai Red Curry Paste- grain free diet and healthy fats- some more experiences

  1. There are a few Growth apps where you can enter hieght weight data and get a percentile comparison with American and WHO charts (we use Growth+ App for iphone) – good tool to monitor your kids development. Kids in general in this generation are/will be taller as there is more emphasis on pre-natal nutrition and they eat healthier stuff ( we see it with our kids too). As my stat prof used to say – correlation doest mean causality ;-).

    • .. But to link the growth spurt to recent dietary changes is a far stretch. As my stat prof used to say – correlation doest mean a cause and effect relationship.

    • Agree Ashish.. but keeping all other factors constant when you vary just one variable..it does indicate the effect of that one variable…that’s how coefficients are derived. Beyond a point the delta due to that variable might start to reach its limit…but i guess we haven’t reached that part of the graph yet specially so with the kids. Hope you are finding the wheat free experience a bit easier now..i am sure you will find benefits with the change if you stay the course…even if you have not found them yet (i am guessing from your comment)

      • I will check if i got any taller 🙂

        I havent gotten wheat free, what i have done is reduced wheat and sugar and have increased exercising and it seems to be working well for now. Going to India next month and just thinking of Bikanervala’s mutter kulche is making me crazy 🙂

Leave a Reply

