My experiments with Oat Bran

I would start this post by saying- I lost 5 kilos in last 4 months- the Dubai stone of more than 13 years is finally off me – no more than a pebble now!! How did I do it? It’s no secret I just followed the very well know Dukan Diet and honestly I cheated a lot and at a lot of other times I just had no option like on our holiday to India. But in the end the diet has totally changed the way I understood food and its metabolism. The fact that I can eat how much I need to and still lose that hanging flab was totally liberating, for I have always been unhappy with controlling portions. And with food if it doesn’t make you happy then what good is it anyways?

Talking of Dukan I want to mention Oat bran- the cornerstone of the diet- I met oat bran only after embarking on Dukan and I’d be lying if I said I didn’t wince at as much as a mention of it in the past. However the image of the svelte figure of a fellow mum in my kid’s school strengthened my resolve to banish any prejudices of any sort and follow the diet to the last word and i finally shoved the first spoon of the gooey innocent grain in my mouth and never looked back.

I agree the grain can be bland and gooey so I decided to experiment with it and come up with ways to make it palatable. Here’s one, Dukan or not, if you’d like to give a try.

Oat Upma

Ingredients

1 tsp canola oil

1/2 tsp mustard seeds

4 curry leaves

1/2 dry red chilly

1 clove of garlic thinly sliced

1/2 red onion (medium sized) -chopped

2 tablespoons oats

1/2 a lime

chopped coriander leaves

salt to taste

Heat the oil, throw in the dry red chilly, mustard and curry leaves followed by chopped onions and garlic. Saute till onions glisten, add in the oat bran followed by 1/2 a cup of water. Simmer on low heat till soft. Season with salt, lime juice and chopped coriander.

Image
Image

Oat bran is a fibrous husk that surrounds and protects the oat grain. It can absorb upto 25 times on average its volume of water, so as soon as it reaches the stomach, it swells and takes up enough space to make you feel full. It reduces cholesterol and diabetes.

2 thoughts on “My experiments with Oat Bran

  1. Hi ,

    I’m Rita Moudar , Project manager at Buzzeff Middle East,

    we are a social advertising platform and we are looking for bloggers who can participate to our client campaign by seeding videos or publishing sponsored articles ,

    we pay 0.04 US $ per view and 100$ per article

    Our Website is http://www.buzzeff.com

    please contact me if you are interested and want more details,

    thank you,

    Rita Moudar

Leave a Reply

